

To: Chair and Members of the Welsh

Language Steering Committee

Date: 10 March 2021

Direct Dial: 01824 712589

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the WELSH LANGUAGE STEERING COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 16 MARCH 2021 BY VIDEO CONFERENCE.

PLEASE NOTE: DUE TO THE CURRENT RESTRICTIONS ON TRAVEL AND THE REQUIREMENT FOR SOCIAL DISTANCING THIS MEETING WILL NOT BE HELD AT ITS USUAL LOCATION. THIS WILL BE A REMOTE MEETING BY VIDEO CONFERENCE AND NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business to be conducted at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 5 - 10)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of the Welsh Language Steering Committee held on 10 November 2020 (copy enclosed).

5 MENTER IAITH

To receive a presentation on the work of Menter laith from Ruth Williams, Chief Officer, Menter laith Sir Ddinbych.

Link to Menter laith Sir Ddinbych's Annual Report 2019-20 > https://misirddinbych.cymru/cms/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/Annual-Report-2019-2020-heb-cyfrifon3067.pdf

6 DEVELOPMENTS WITH THE WELSH LANGUAGE REGIONALLY AND NATIONALLY (Pages 11 - 18)

To consider a report by the Welsh Language Officer (copy enclosed) updating members on the progress with Welsh Language activities regionally and nationally.

7 ACTIVITIES TO PROMOTE THE WELSH LANGUAGE (Pages 19 - 24)

To consider a report by the Welsh Language Officer (copy enclosed) updating members on the Welsh Language promotional activity since the last meeting and the outline plans for the year ahead.

8 FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 25 - 26)

To consider the Committee's forward work programme (copy attached).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Ellie Chard Ann Davies Tony Flynn Huw Hilditch-Roberts Arwel Roberts Anton Sampson Graham Timms Joe Welch Emrys Wynne

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils